Eastern Orthodox Liturgy – Child’s Play

My wife and I were pleasantly surprised when we walked into our kids’ play room, and found them acting out an Eastern Orthodox morning prayer liturgy with their cousin, Landon. The kids had stood up their dolls beside them, to join in the liturgy. And they set up their little icons as the center of attention. I was so proud of them, and so intrigued, that I turned on the video camera and requested a repeat performance.

Where did our children learn all this stuff?
They learned it as a part of our family’s daily worship practices.

I figured if millions of children could easily learn songs from Barney and Sesame Street, then they could just as easily learn songs of praise which glorify our God and Savior, Jesus Christ.

When children partake of a daily diet of worship, prayer, and praise, these are the sorts of things which naturally come out in their playing.

I am so proud of my kids! May God grant them many years! Praise the Lord!

About Dn Joseph Gleason

I am a contributor to On Behalf of All, a simple blog about Orthodox Christianity, theology, and philosophy, written from the diaspora of North America. I am also the Deacon of Christ the King Orthodox Church in Omaha, Illinois, and am blessed with seven children and one lovely wife.
This entry was posted in The Orthodox Christian Family. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Eastern Orthodox Liturgy – Child’s Play

  1. Eric Hyde says:

    Oh my! This is one of the cutest things I’ve ever seen.

  2. My 2 year old already sings the Our Father and insists on holding a “prayer book” (sometimes written by Dr. Seuss) during our evening prayers.

  3. Elizabeth says:

    May God richly bless them all – and you too, of course !

  4. Kim says:

    Pretty good chanting/reading, too!

  5. Lisa says:

    better make them some vestments!

  6. This just made me smile and blessed me in a down moment. Thank you so much for sharing. :)

  7. Pingback: Brain Surgery for our 7-year-old Daughter | The Orthodox Life

Leave a Reply

