Live From Gotham City

This article was published in the following newspapers:

Norris City Banner – Wednesday, December 12, 2007
Ridgway News – Thursday, December 13, 2007
Gallatin County Democrat – Thursday, December 13, 2007

 ~

Live From Gotham City

Batman movies are intriguing.  Bruce Wayne is one of the richest men in the city, yet he goes undercover as a masked hero.  In the midst of darkness, fog, eerie glowing lights, and massive buildings guarded by gargoyles, Batman bravely fights the forces of evil in Gotham City.

I feel like I am in Gotham City now.  As I type this article from the 19th floor of a hotel in downtown Philadelphia, I look down over the city at night.  I see an awesome scene that looks like a picture right out of a Batman movie.  City Hall rises up through the fog, boasting a large clock which is lit up with an eerie yellow glow.  Halfway down the building, big ugly gargoyles stand watch over the entry, ready to pounce on any trespassers.  On either side of the clock tower, city people are captured within dark skyscrapers, packed together like rats in the numerous apartment buildings which line 14th street.  The frosty street below is peppered with people of the night, as they walk to unknown places, and drive cars with unknown passengers.  A very strange sound echoes through the city.  It sounds almost like a siren, but not quite.  Then it is cut short.  I wonder what is going on tonight, beneath the window of my room?

I am just a small-town guy.  I live in Omaha, Illinois.  Yet my business has brought me to Philadelphia, and has put me up in this nice hotel.  Who am I that I should get to sit up in a high place like this, and be able to look down over Gotham City?  What have I done to deserve such a view?

The Bible says that we Christians will enjoy a much better view than this.  Scripture says that we who belong to Jesus are “seated in heavenly places with Christ” (Ephesians 2:6).  Great honor awaits us.  It is just a matter of time!  The Bible says we will reign with Christ in His Kingdom, and we will even judge the angels (1 Corinthians 6:3).

If you are a Christian, then you are like Bruce Wayne.  You are a child of God, and you own heavenly riches beyond your wildest imagination.  But God has placed you here on Earth, to be “undercover” for a while.  You are a glorious child of the King, but your glory has not been revealed yet (Romans 8:18).  In the mean time, you get to be like Batman.  You live in a world filled with many dark things, and it is your job to obey God and fight against evil.  The Bible says, “Resist the devil and he will flee from you” (James 4:7).  Fight bravely, and know that your reward is coming!

The view in Gotham City is grand.  But the view in the New Jerusalem is better!

~ Joseph M. Gleason

About Fr Joseph Gleason

I serve as a priest at Christ the King Orthodox Mission in Omaha, Illinois, and am blessed with eight children and one lovely wife. I contribute to On Behalf of All, a simple blog about Orthodox Christianity. I also blog here at The Orthodox Life.
This entry was posted in Newspaper Articles. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

